The Solar Eclipses of my Lifetime

A composite photograph of every Partial Solar Eclipse I have witnessed in my lifetime. It is truly amazing how you can precisely place yourself by location, time and circumstance in your lifetime of remembering eclipses:

March 7, 1970
I was a 13 year old boy. I set up my 60mm refractor in my backyard at 6418 Emory Drive in Brook Park, Ohio. I projected the image of the sun onto white poster board. I did not take any photograph as I did not have a camera. The image is a simulation from TheSky program.

July 10, 1972. I was 15 years old. I set up my 60mm refractor in the front yard at 430 Kenmore Drive in Evansville, Indiana. I projected the image of the sun onto white poster board. I did not take any photograph as I did not have a camera. The image is a simulation from TheSky program.

December 10, 1977, I was a 20 year old Airman Second Class in the Air Force, stationed at Reese AFB near Lubbock, Texas. I set up my 60mm refractor in the back of the Jet Engine Shop and projected the solar image onto white card stock. I then took a photo using a Yashica 35mm SLR camera using 400 ASA black & white film . I developed and printed the photograph at the base photo hobby shop. While viewing the eclipse, I shared the view with other sergeants and airmen. This was the first time I did astronomy outreach, and is the first astrophoto I had ever taken. Many years later I found the photo in a storage box and scanned it into a digital image.

June 10, 2002, I joined Gil Clark of the Telescopes In Education Foundation at a city park in Altadena, California. We did a solar eclipse outreach with local residents viewing. I took the photograph with my Contax 167 MT film SLR camera hard mounted at prime focus on an F6.3 focal reducer that I installed on my 10 inch Meade LX50 telescope. I used 400 ISO color film, and digitally scanned the print

May 20, 2012 I set up my 10 inch Meade LX250 Frankenscope at Hilltop Park in Signal Hill, California. This was a Telescopes In Education outreach as April Louise and Carrol Devault also participated. We had well over 100 viewers. I took this image afocally to a 40mm eyepiece using my Canon Powershot A620 digital camera.

October 23, 2014. I set up my 10 inch Meade LX250 Frankenscope at Parking Lot #38 at the Veteran’s Administration Hospital West Los Angeles Campus. I took this image afocally to a 40mm eyepiece using my Canon Powershot A620 digital camera. Two VA employees saw me from their office window and came out to see the eclipse through my telescope..

A Lifetime of Aolar Eclipses

A Lifetime of Solar Eclipses

~ by matthewota on November 13, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
