Two views of an actual meteorite April 03, 2008

Sikhote-Alin Iron Meteorite

I own two small meteorites; this one is my favorite because it is “oriented”, meaning when it entered the earth’s atmosphere it did not tumble, and presented one face to the searing airflow that roared around it. I show it as a composite image so both sides can be seen.

Notice how the top side has bubbly pits on it and the bottom side is smoothly curved.

The meteorite is 89% iron and 5% nickel

it is small fragment of a larger meteor that broke up over Siberia, Russia in 1947

~ by matthewota on April 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Two views of an actual meteorite April 03, 2008”

  1. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site.

    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you later on as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has
    encouraged me to get my very own blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

 
