Training at the 60 foot solar tower

My training continues at the 60 f00t solar tower at Mt Wilson Observatory. Funding is uncertain, but I continue to hope that things will work out and we can continue the Heliosiesmology Project. I will be going back to the observatory this Sunday and Monday to finish training on the basic operations.

The photo shows me on top of the top deck of the tower 60 feet above the ground. I go up twice a day to set the Ceolostat, seen behind me. It consists of two mirrors that focus the sunlight down a 60 foot shaft to the instruments below.

~ by matthewota on October 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
