Mount Wilson Weekend August 17-19, 2007

I went up to Mt. Wilson Observatory Friday Afternoon. My supervisor Tom drove me up and as he ran the 60 inch telescope I ran the 16 inch telescope. The client was the Los Angeles Astronomical Society. They viewed many objects, mostly planetary nebulae. But my first visitor was an old gentleman who was into Lunar features. He requested to see Crater Messier A and B, so I obliged him. As others came over I was able to show them a shadow transit on the face of Jupiter and my favorite planetary nebulae, the Blinking Planetary.

It was a rather brutal session, due to the fact it was an all-nighter. Since it was on a Friday night, I was up from 4:00 am Friday morning clear through sunrise on Saturday morning. I got to bed in the Monestary at 6:30 a.m. and woke up at 11:00 am. I did some sign design work in the Library that afternoon, and then set up for the Saturday night client, which was the officers of my own club, the Orange County Astronomers. They viewed for a half night, as the clouds were coming in. So Tom and I got to go back to sleep at a rather “decent” hour, 1:30 in the morning.

I will most likely be going up to the Observatory again next weekend, just Saturday this time. I will be preparing the telescope for the Lunar Eclipse which occurs next week, early on Tuesday morning.

We got up at 8 a.m. on Sunday and had a pleasant drive back down the mountain. I got back home at 10:00 am, and went right back to work doing drawings…..and I am still doing it tonight.

We had some problems with the 16 inch telescope Saturday night, but I overcame them thanks to spare parts and perseverance.

~ by matthewota on August 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
