I Worked at Mount Wilson Friday night

   I worked at the 16 inch telescope Friday night. I drove trainee Mary Brown up and she did the entire startup procedure. We had no technical problems with the telescope and Mary did a good job with her extensive astronomy knowledge.  She is vice president of the Los Angeles Astronomical Society.
  I cooked up some chili rice for us in the galley prior to the session, and we got to speak with our superintendant David Jurasovich. He wanted to make sure we were OK and we had a nice chat about the 60 inch and the 16 inch and other Mt. Wilson stuff.
  David mentioned that he was running the 60 inch that night because there was a lack of volunteers to run it. I had no idea that there was a shortage of 60 inch operators so I volunteered for training on the larger scope. David will get me on the waiting list there.

   I am scheduled to work at the 16 inch again this coming Thursday. I hope the weather is OK.
 

~ by matthewota on May 14, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
